Gudo Wafu Nishijima

Gudo Wafu Nishijima is a Japanese master, founder of the Dogen Sangha. Born in 1920, he practiced Zen for some 60 years, first under the guidance of Master Kodo Sawaki. Upon this Master's death he followed the teachings of Rempo Niwa Zenji, who was superior general of the Soto School of Zen and abbot of its root-monastery, Eihei-ji. Master Nishijima received the Dharma seal from him.
 
While leading an active professional and family life (as did Master Taisen Deshimaru), he penned thirty or so texts in Japanese and English, including a complete translation of Shobogenzo, the monumental work of Dogen, the great master who established the Soto School in Japan in the 13d century. He is currently translating from Sanskrit into Japanese and English the "Treaty of the Middle Way" (Mâdhyamaka-kârikâ), an other very important text written by the famous indian philosopher Nagarjuna.

For Master Nishijima, the path to happiness and freedom lies in investing one's whole body and spirit in the `here and now', be it in the silent practice of zazen or as we go about our daily lives.Devoid of any `exotic' connotations, The Way he advocates rests on free, non-violent commitment, without any mortification whatsoever. In other words, a path for 21st century Mankind to follow…
 
 

Interview of master Nishijima

Gudo Wafu Nishijima

Gudo Wafu Nishijima est un maître japonais fondateur de la Dogen Sangha. Âgé aujourd'hui de 90 ans, il a pratiqué le Zen pendant plus de 60 ans, d'abord sous la direction de maître Kodo Sawaki, puis, après la mort de ce dernier, sous celle de Rempo Niwa Zenji, qui fut supérieur général de l'école Soto du Zen et abbé de son monastère-racine, Eiheiji. Il en a reçu la transmission du Dharma.

Tout en menant une vie professionnelle et familiale (comme maître Taisen Deshimaru), il est l'auteur d'une trentaine d'ouvrages en japonais et en anglais, dont une traduction intégrale du Shobogenzo, oeuvre monumentale de Dogen, grand maître qui établit au 13e siècle l'école Soto au Japon. Il traduit actuellement, du sanscrit vers le japonais et l'anglais, le "Traité du Milieu" (Mâdhyamaka-kârikâ), un autre texte fondamental du grand philosophe indien Nagarjuna.

Pour maître Nishijima, la voie du bonheur et de la liberté consiste à s'investir totalement corps et esprit dans l'action du moment présent, que ce soit dans la pratique silencieuse de zazen ou dans la vie de tous les jours. Dépouillée de tout exotisme, la voie qu'il préconise repose sur un engagement libre, non-violent et loin de toute mortification. Bref, une voie pour l'homme du 21ème siècle.